Welcome!

Welcome to the forum for collectors, restorers and fans of flip clocks. Please Sign Up if you would like to take part.

By the way, signing up is free..

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Loud "click" when changing days

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Loud "click" when changing days

Hello! I'm relatively new to the intricacies of the flipclock world but have happily had one for the past few years (a wood patterned Copal 227, I believe). I've been having a problem where the clock makes a very loud "click" sound when the day changes over (ex. from Saturday to Sunday). It usually happens around 12:15am and wakes me up.
    Is there any way to fix this noise or at least make it more quiet? I'm not a light sleeper by any means, so it's definitely overly noisy to be waking ME up. Also, does anyone know why the day would be changing at 12:15am instead of exactly at midnight?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

The only thing I can think of is a trivial one: the alarm will make a loud click at the set time, even when the alarm is turned off (alarm button down). If that is the case, the solution is simple: set the alarm to a time you are not asleep.

Comment

Are you sure you're not talking about the Copal 229 - the one with the Day displayed?
      The click is when a arm is moved up by the hours wheel to allow a spring that has built up tension to move the day wheel. Another arm catches the day wheel (which is probably when the click sound happens). I'm in the middle of taking one of these apart. There's no way that I can tell to quiet that.
      As far as why it doesn't go off exactly at 12:00. It was apparently designed that way. Flip clocks just aren't that precise. That's why they were replaced by LED digitals.
      ~ Mackey Site Administrator
      If you have any questions/comments Contact Me
      If you're not a member, you should consider joining!

Comment

• CrunchyHoney
        CrunchyHoney commented