Welcome!

Welcome to the forum for collectors, restorers and fans of flip clocks. Please Sign Up if you would like to take part.

By the way, signing up is free..

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Solari Cifra 3 problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Solari Cifra 3 problem

Hello... I recently purchased a cifra 3 on ebay. Original model. Europe. It ran for about a week then stopped advancing the numbers. I opened the case and plugged it in. The motor runs correctly, but doesn't advance the mnumbers. Any thoughts on what might be awry?
    Thanks!
    J

Hi! Welcome to to this wonderful forum!

I am not experienced with this clock at all, but what you're describing sounds as if a gearwheel is potentially damaged. The motor should have a gearwheel sticking out, this gearwheel connect (in)directly with the clockwork, driving it. When the clock is not advancing or making any other (weird) sounds, it seems as if though you should look there for the cause of the issue.

Some pictures might also help, let us know how it goes!

Comment

Having looked at it, it appears that there is something wrong with the minute mechanism. It no longer advances when I try to set the clock and it no longer advances when the motor is running... any thoughts? It does advance when I manually pull down the small hammer below the two springs that return the mechanism to the wheels.
      Ok... I will try to take pictures.

Comment

jdmfine Hello and welcome...

I have worked on quite a few of these older (1966 to 1970) Cifra 3 models as well as the battery operated modern version that has very similar internal components.