Welcome!

Welcome to the forum for collectors, restorers and fans of flip clocks. Please Sign Up if you would like to take part.

By the way, signing up is free..

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ying and Yang Copal 222s

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ying and Yang Copal 222s

Hi Flipclockfans,

I’m a newbie here showing off my (kinda) matching pair.

I recently got a good deal on a new/old stock 115v 12hr white one on eBay to compliment my 240v 24hr black one.

I followed Mackey’s excellent video for removing unwanted NyQuil branding and it went pretty well in the end.

I did learn things:

In my infinite wisdom I decided to use nail polish removal instead of brake fluid: big mistake. The stuff is so strong it stripped the letters off instantly and then started to eat away at the lens leaving a cloudy mess. Thank goodness for Meguir’s PlastX, which fixed the problem but I wasn’t able to remove all of the remaining NyQuil text still etched into the lens on first go. Perhaps I need to attempt it again in the morning.

A bigger mistake was to allow the nail polish remover to touch the white edge. This literally stripped the shine off, which I’ve done my best to polish back but I know it’s not as shiny as it should be on one side. That one was a tough lesson. Again, maybe I can make it better but I’m scared of rounding off the edge of the case by more hard elbow grease so I may quit while I’m ahead.

Interestingly, the COPAL logo font/kerning/size are slightly different between the two, which surprised me, and inside the black one there is a blue woven wrap around the light assembly and on the white one it is clear and plastic. Guess they modified little things as they went along?

Anyway, here are some pictures for those who like pictures
    Attached Files
    Last edited by eliot33; March 4, 2021, 10:42 PM. Reason: Adding pics - had to resize them to make them small enough!